Application of CID hash for verifying documents

I’m a newbie, so forgive me if this question is irrelevant. I have an idea for something I can use IPFS for.

The company I work for creates documents that bad guys might want to alter and pass off as authentic. So I was thinking we could have a file authentication tool on our website that would verify whether the file in question was an authentic, unaltered file produced by our company.

I was thinking that we could have a page kind of like the “File CID Verifier” on Pinata ( Pinata | Effortless IPFS File Management ). The person could upload the file to the tool, the tool would create a hash, search our database of documents we have done to see whether that hash exists. (The tool only creates a hash; it does not upload the file to the IPFS network.) If it finds that hash in our database, it would tell the visitor that the file is authentic. If the hash doesn’t exist, it would tell them that the file may not be authentic.

A few questions:
1st, is this a good idea? or am I just reinventing the wheel for some solution that is already out there?
2nd, is this doable with IPFS technology? Or should I be looking for some other technology to do this with?
3rd, anybody out there think they can do this? Are you interested in talking about it further?

We do so much better now.
We live in a world where cryptography exists.

1st, is this a good idea? or am I just reinventing the wheel for some solution that is already out there?

Yes it is, that would work, that actually a very well known problem.

So your solution is pretty good however is has an issue, you need to be online for checks to happen plus you as the company can remove entries from the database, both things that other actors wouldn’t like in theory.

The other way to do it is with a signature.
Instead of having a database of hashes, your company holds a private key that it uses to encrypt hashes of correct files producing “signatures”.