Find Content Faster - Willing to pay anyone who can solve this for me :)

Hey all -

I’m new to IPFS, so please excuse my ignorance. I’m working on a tool involving NFT metadata. In order for the tool to work well, I need to be able to pull metadata very quickly after the URI is released. I am currently using the IPFS CL “get” command in order to pull an entire URI directory - but it often takes over a minute for IPFS to find a node with the data available.

There are some tools online however that can get the data from IPFS almost instantly (within seconds of the URI being released) - how are they doing this? For example, even if I use one of the public gateways at Public Gateway Checker | IPFS, they almost always have the content available right away. What do I need to do to accomplish this on my own IPFS node? Do I need to configure my own swarm so that I have more peers available to search from?

Any help is greatly appreciated. I would happily pay anyone who is able to give me a solution to this in the form of an Amazon giftcard or crypto. Thanks!!

The (xor) distance between a node and another with data makes all the difference in the world.

Transferring data between peers is fast, discovery not so much.

Also, a theory of mine is that nodes who run for long time tend to connect to each other since temporary node come and go.

IDK how those other tools work, but be careful comparing, sometime a system can be centralised.

Thanks for your response! I have talked to the devs for one of the services I mentioned and he confirmed that they use IPFS to pull the data.

I just came across this post, and it sounds like he is encountering a similar issue.