IPFS for personal use: keeping track of "current version", discoverability, and IPFS file system

I’ve set up two private nodes using the instructions at https://github.com/ipfs/go-ipfs/blob/master/docs/experimental-features.md#private-networks and it worked great. Now I’ve got some questions about the experience of actually using it…

Here’s my use case: I’ve got a bunch of projects with audio files. IPFS seems like it could be very useful for snapshotting the projects, sharing between systems, and de-duplicating files across projects. So for example, I’ve got a project with the following structure:

myproject/
myproject/notes.txt
myproject/audio1.wav
myproject/audio2.wav

I add it to IPFS with ipfs add -r my project and get a hash hash1. Then I add a file audio3.wav and add the dir again to get hash2.

Now I’m a bit stuck. How do I know which version is the most current version of the project? From what I’ve seen so far, IPFS doesn’t have any metadata to tell me that hash2 was created more recently than hash1 – which makes sense, because I’d get the same results if I had added all three audio files first and then deleted one!

But still, I want some record of the versions so I know what’s current.

It seems to me like there needs to be an index of hashes that sits outside of IPFS – is that the typical pattern?

Another question I have is about discoverability of my IPFS content. How do I get any insight into what’s sitting in my IPFS? So far the only thing I’ve figured out is ipfs ls hash, or clicking every DAG link in the webui. That’s pretty long-winded. I guess the way we solve that with regular file systems is with names :slight_smile:

Actually, I may have just figured something out using ipfs files. I can create a named directory structure:

ipfs files mkdir /myproject
ipfs files cp /ipfs/hash1 /myproject/version1
ipfs files cp /ipfs/hash2 /myproject/version2