IPFS Local Node Hosting and Security

Hello!

I am using the Brave browser and have been playing around with the IPFS companion. I am interested in supporting a decentralized web; therefore, I’m happy to set up a locale node.

I’m new to IPFS (as are many people) and I really don’t know what I’m doing yet. I’ve read the IPFS docs, Brave documentation, and other websites. However, I still have questions about general security. I do not share any files, but would like to take advantage of IPFS for websites that have been enabled with the protocol.

While the local node is enabled, is it safe for me to visit my bank website or credit card websites or other financial institutions? When I say safe, I mean, are the content of my accounts being stored on the local IPFS node? I assume no - since these institutions do not yet use IPFS content addressing. Only content from websites using IPFS protocols would be stored on the local node?

Thank you for taking the time to read this and possibly address my questions!

1 Like

IPFS is similar to BitTorrent in some ways. It will only store files or look at files you’ve specifically added to it (like BitTorrent). Simply installing this stuff and letting it run won’t cause it to see any of your network traffic. You are completely safe. But if you DO add files to IPFS they ARE visible to the entire world potentially, same as with BitTorrent. Hope this answers your concerns. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Thank you kindly for your response.

At this time, I do not have files of interest to share. My main concern is that the local IPFS node would be caching the https traffic, and therefore that content would be viewable/shareable through the node. This appears not to be the case.