Is CID a sensitive data?

I’m new in IPFS moreover not sure knowing about blockchain technology itself

I wonder if there’s CIDs list in public that show CIDs of users, since content cannot be deleted because of decentralized system unless everyone (every nodes) deleted its content in their storage.

What if someone upload illegal stuff and distributed its CID to everyone, who can handle it?

Is CID is a sensitive data if i upload my private stuff at there?

What is different of node and peer?

Yes / No
It’s possible to get a list of most CIDs on the network however it’s a non trivial task that requires crawlling large part of the DHT with many nodes and prey to get lucky.

You should assume that CID are public information (even tho there is no list I can just send you to, someone could make one maybe).

What if someone upload illegal stuff and distributed its CID to everyone, who can handle it?

No one, if illegal things exists on the network, just don’t download it ? IPFS doesn’t take initiative, IPFS isn’t gonna download random files like that.

The same thing can be said about HTTP, illegal things exists on HTTP but you don’t visit thoses websites so this doesn’t bother you, same for IPFS. :slight_smile:

What is different of node and peer?

Pear are fruits I belive. (nothing we use them interchangeably).

Is CID is a sensitive data if i upload my private stuff at there?

If you want to upload private things you need to encrypt it first.

I don’t think you can crawl DHT. There is no DHT query - give me all keys node knows about.

True but you can spam the DHT with 5000 nodes (probably less I’ve just picked a conservative number) and logs all request done to you, you will catch many if not all provider requests.

The nodes will want to register the fact that they host the file and they will send the CID trying to register it.

So do you think can a computer brute force CIDs?