IPFS and Digital Asset protection

Hello to everybody,
Please excuse me if this is not the correct place where I can ask this question, but It’s quite struggling me since I don’t find a clear answer… I’m a developer and I’ve been asked to evaluate some aspect of NFT/Digital Assets…
I’ve seen that usually digital assetts (for example opensea sold one) are stored on IPFS network and they can be reached via an url… But I was wondering in this case anyone having the full URL can reach the content and download it…is this so? I know that IPFS has nothing directly to do on NFT minting but what I’m not able to understand is how protection of the content is assured

Thanks

Hello!

IPFS is a public network everything on it can be downloaded by anyone (who know the CID).

As such NFTs metadata (NFT are smart contact not images) on IPFS are not “protected” in any way.

Blockchain can “anchor” the IPFS CID of whatever you want, making that something inherit the properties of the blockchain (public, distributed and immutable)

Hope it help!

1 Like

In general, ownership of an NFT is enforced by the smart contract, not IPFS or a server. Nowadays, most NFTs are links to an image, and a popular way to link to this image is via an IPFS CID. If you use a centralized service for this storage part, you may use additional protection measures (password, etc). Of course, the point is to have a decentralized asset, so it is often on IPFS. Then, anybody with the CID can access the file. So the only option I know to protect your file/image is to encrypt it and require people wanting to display it to provide a piece of information known to them only (password, wallet key, etc).

That being said, almost all the images representing an art NFT and which IPFS CID is publicly displayed on smart contract are non-encrypted. So they are not protected at all. In fact, not only can I see almost all the NFTs thanks to their CID, but I have the list readily available on the Ethereum blockchain.