New to IPFS, would love some help clarifying a few things

Morning all!

My name is Sean and I’m just learning about IPFS, Ethereum, and NFT based content today. I work as an audio engineer and composer for media and as NFT’s are starting to revolutionize the music industry I figured now is a great time to learn.

Exposition aside, here are my questions I’d love help on. Sorry if they’re basic!

• I understand that because adding data to the Etherum blockchain is so expensive we need to use IPFS for content such as music or albums. When I upload a .WAV single or album to IPFS I would receive a hash specific to that content. Now, I read that when I upload that all duplicates would be removed to give a new hash. If someone were to take the album and upload it themselves would that remove the one I previously uploaded and create a new hash? I guess, tl;dr, what is the data protection through IPFS if someone halfway around the world chose to upload a copy of what you already uploaded. Would it be replaced?

• When using IPFS for NFT content, say I wanted to sell 100 copies of a song or album as an NFT, maybe with a discount code or with a share of copyright to make it more unique. If I understand this right you would attach the hash to the NFT so the person could access/download it through whatever platform, like OpenSea or Bluebox. Would you use the same hash for each 100 or can you only attach the hash to one single NFT?

Hi Sean,