Is there an implementation of IPFS that includes erasure coding like Reed-Solomon right now?

Is there an implementation of IPFS that includes erasure coding like Reed-Solomon right now? (I have scan the issues and forum, get the answer was NO in previous years)

BTW, I am a senior student and my supervisor hope me to merge Reed-Solomon into one implementation of IPFS(like Kubo) to solve the problem of single node cold data storage. Is this achievable?

Thanks!

Not that I know

This is not how we use IPFS in the wild today, storing files is voluntary, nodes don’t randomly start storing others peoples files.
If someone want to store the file they store the blocks themselves.
I’m not sure what Reed Solomon would handle verifying the hashes or why it would be use full here.

1 Like

Thanks for your reply!

The reason why I want to use Reed-Solomon is that IPFS maybe not a suitable storage method in some corner case(The scenario that someone use IPFS to store one file for years, but the hard drive where the data stored breaks down, since no one had ever pulled it, there was no copy anywhere else, so data was lost forever).

You are correct that the best way to avoid such a scenario is to make a replica locally. However, if IPFS supports erasure coding, creating a replica can be easier.

With erasure coding, users can use less space for a large amount of data fault tolerance. If I specifying three nodes to store data, traditional replication requires 300% of hard disk space, but through Reed-Solomon, nearly half of the storage space can be reduced for a similar effect.

Reed-Solomon layer over IPFS · Issue #196 · ipfs/notes · GitHub

This old issue also mention this optimization. But maybe the priority of this idea is very low.

I’m considering that if I do it myself, how many time will I spend, is it possible to implement Reed-Solomon to Kubo in some way?