P2P database: OrbitDB

Hello, everyone

I’m new to IPFS & I read about orbitdb and it seems a really nice idea.
Is there any similar solution to build a P2P DB on top of IPFS?

Cheers ^^

1 Like

OrbitDB is built on IPFS. Are you just looking for alternatives? If so, you can try the y-ipfs-connector library used by peerpad:

Thanks for your reply. Very helpful ^^

I’m also very interested in this topic in general, and been following OrbitDB recently.

Yeah, OrbitDB is very promising

The stuff in ipfs-shipyard, and especially y-jS-connector have gotten much more work recently. They have a cleaner implementation of CRDTs on a more mature version of ipfs pubsub. Check out the blog posts on https://ipfs.io/blog about pubsub and CRDTs. Also watch for new blog posts and tutorials soon.

Thanks @flyingzumwalt it’s much helpful.

hi @flyingzumwalt, thanks for referring to the yjs connector, I am currently playing around with it, super cool stuff, but do not fully understand it’s CRDT merging logic. I found the following notion on GitHub - y-js/y-array: Array type for Yjs

If two users insert something at the same position concurrently, the content that was inserted by the user with the higher user-id will be to the right of the other content. In the OT world we often speak of intention preservation, which is very loosely defined in most cases. This type has the following notion of intention preservation: When a user inserts content c after a set of content C_left, and before a set of content C_right, then C_left will be always to the left of c, and C_right will be always to the right of c. Since content is only marked as deleted (until all conflicts are resolved), this notion of intention preservation is very strong.