React app blank on ipfs gateway but functional on localhost

As the title suggests, I am trying to launch my react app on IPFS and pin it with crust network. I have successfully built and uploaded the build file and when testing on local install of IPFS I can use localhost and access my app as intended. localhost:8080/ipfs/.

When i try and use a gateway though, I get a blank screen and these issues in the console.

I am very new to IPFS in general but I have done a lot of reading and research and can’t seem to pinpoint where I am going wrong.

the end goal here is to do this in a decentralised manor and that is why I am not using pinata or fleek. Any information or help would be appreciated. thanks (:

Seems that you use path gateway, which is not intended for loading websites.
Your app fails because it loads scripts from / instead of /ipfs/{cid}/ root.

See:

Try replacing cloudflare-ipfs.com with cf-ipfs.com which is a subdomain flavour.

2 Likes

thank you for the response (: that did indeed load my webpage! I am struggling to understand why though. What do you mean by path gateway? I did read the links you sent and to be honest they are a little over my head.

Is this something I set wrong when uploading or a react config? Thank you for your response (:

You’re using root-relative pathing, like /yourpath (e.g. I see “chips3” in your error message).

You need to use relative pathing, so that when things are loaded at e.g. cloudflare-ipfs.com/ipfs/SOMEHASH that chips3 gets loaded relative to your root hash.

I did a search and found this article React tips — Working with relative path using create-react-app | by Leonardo Bruno Lima | Medium – I don’t really know react, but relative paths – e.g. ../../../chips3 (or whatever) is the pattern you’ll need to follow so your stuff loads in whatever kind of IPFS gateway it is running on.

TLDR;

• there are “path gateways”, which load at example.com/ipfs/YOURHASH